Does it really all end here?

Feeling some sense of achievement, I suppose.

So today I purchased Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 on dvd today (Thank you, JB-Hifi!) and after investing in some nutritious McDonalds’ hash browns, I made my way home to my very inviting couch and worked my way through all of the special features and eventually the film (not going to lie, I did do a fair bit of fast forwarding, mainly because I didn’t have 2 hours to spare, sorry guys). It was a very strange experience, I guess. I hadn’t seen the film since the only time I saw it in the cinema. That time, I was by myself, slightly angry at the aforementioned loneliness, and also slightly exhausted from the 7 hours of car travel and 4 hours of international aeroplane travel I’d completed the day before (thanks for moving to New Zealand, bro).

It was the first time I’d ever been to a cinema screening alone, and the emotional intensity I was expecting from this particular cinematic experience was really rather interesting and mildly overwhelming, I suppose. I’ve never been one to cry when watching films or television, but if ever something was going to break me, it would surely have been this.

As I briefly (ha. ha.) mentioned in the “Friends Edition”, I am a fairly huge Harry Potter fan and have been since I first read Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone in 2001 (I was the coolest Grade 2 kid out), and besides a slight departure from my fangirling in my early teenage years (Peer pressure, I hate you), I still consider myself to be huge fan and am actually quite fond of the fandom we have with Potter. Mugglenet, Mugglecast, fangirling, yeah, it’s all in the other post, so go look there. Back to the cinema. It was oddly calming to be there by myself. No distractions, I suppose. Just myself, completely absorbing what was on the screen before me. But when those credits began to roll, man, that was a weird feeling. SO many emotions at once… Was I supposed to be happy that it ended well? Be sad that it was over? Cry? Scream? Faint from all of the unknown emotional expectations?! Instead I didn’t really do anything. Besides tell myself that I didn’t particularly want to be that girl sitting by herself in the cinema watching the last Harry Potter movie and crying. And in the end, I wasn’t. I took a few deep breaths, one last look at the screen and walked out of that cinema… And found myself walking through my local outside mall, with the lovely James Blunt serenading me with “Goodbye My Lover” (yeah, I know). Then I went home, threw together a Hogwarts student costume in record time and drove to a small gathering at Alenna’s to celebrate our post Potter depression (it was great, we played Monopoly and ate all sorts of wonderful things).

ANYWAY. So now I have all of the dvds, all of the novels, access to Pottermore that I haven’t been able to use yet, and a picture of myself flying on Buckbeak.

Where does my Harry Potter experience go from here? I don’t really know. I hope that one day I’ll have my own children that will read the books, and the day Mugglecast stops releasing episodes will be truly saddening, but I suppose life goes on. However, there is no greater literary influence in my life thus far other than the wonderful words of JK Rowling, and I cannot thank her enough. So yeah. No way is it all ending here! NOW I CAN HAVE A PROPER HARRY POTTER FILM MARATHON, YAAAAAAAY.

Thoughts? :)

