Guest Post: Dependence

Hello lovely people! I’m not even going to apologise for the lack of posts because well that never really seems to accomplish much. Today’s guest post is brought to you by my dear friend Henry. The only thing we really disagree about is music (I’ve never met anyone who dislikes One Direction more, it’s the most hilarious thing… “I trust you with everything… except music.”).  I hope you enjoy his fantastic guest post! You can find Henry on Twitter here. Have a nice day! 

So I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to write for my guest post for a long time. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what I thought was important for me and what I felt was something I constantly had on my mind that wouldn’t bore anyone to death. So, I decided that I’d write about dependence.

I honestly feel that dependence gets bad rapport. To be honest, a lot of the time when I think about it, the first thing I think of is substance abuse like drugs and alcohol, not dependable people, dependable circumstances.

Anyway, let’s get on with it!

I have a lot of friends who are mixed up in what I like to refer to as “horrible, fucking shit” – dope – and others with emotional or physical problems. It’s not that I want to pry into their lives where I don’t belong, as much as being someone who can constantly stay strong around the people who I don’t want to see get messed up with this kind of stuff. I don’t know if this has any reasoning or if it makes any different but I get to sleep at night so I must have a relatively clear conscience. This seems to me like I can’t change what they’re doing but that doesn’t matter as long as I stay loyal to my friends and I’m there for them. I don’t even know if this is something that has changed over the last 7 or 8 months where there have been a lot of massive changes…

Starting at “Senior” this year wasn’t the kind of shock it was for many of the other people that came from my old school who had been there since they’d started school and had no other serious social outlets beside school or didn’t wish to associate themselves with others when given that opportunity. However, for me it was an opportunity to let loose and be myself. I’m always surprised when it turns out that other people like me as well and it’s not a one way kind of thing. As is the case with many of my friendships though, I can be relied upon; depended upon. I don’t like the idea of one of my friends being in a state of distress and not being able to talk to me about how they feel because I seem oppressive and invasive.

For me, though, my one dependence is inanimate: coffee. If asked to define my weaknesses, I would say coffee would come before any moral or physical inhibitions. It’s something that can always be there to cheer me up if everything has spontaneously decided to turn to shit. This is a very comforting thought in the darkest of times; that no matter how bad it may seem, I have one thing to rely on. My other dependence I would note is my music. I feel susceptible without it and nothing makes it easier to get through the rough times than the right tunes buzzing around in your head. This just makes things seem easier, sometimes it seems that the things I feel I can rely on are the things that don’t have feelings and just are.

Sometimes it’s just easier to depend upon things that don’t change their actions based on their mood, and that only have an effect on you. Sometimes it’s nice to not depend on others; sometimes they’re just too inconstant. I know that may sound a little pathetic and contradictory to what I have previously said, but sometimes that’s just how things are and you’ve got to roll with it.

Sometimes we’ve got to depend on ourselves, we have to know that we can do what we need to do and that trying to avoid is the cheap way out that shouldn’t be taken. Dependence can be knowing that the only person you can always rely on will be yourself and you must be dependable to your own cause. Sometimes we underestimate ourselves; we have the ability to rely on ourselves but seem under the impression that other people could do a better job of it.

Ah well.

All in all, what I’m trying to say is love and be dependable. You never know who’ll need you to be there for them or when you need to be there for yourself.

#muchlove.

Thoughts? :)

