Little Things.

Okay, yes, it’s ANOTHER post about One Direction. I’m sorry, but their new album is out soon, so get used to it.

Now, onto the song! The official video is being released later today/tomorrow, so I’ll add it to this post once it’s up on Youtube, but for now, enjoy the lyric video:

Judging from the sneak peeks of the actual music video, it’s going to be one of those emotional, black and white, in-studio videos featuring lots of Niall playing guitar (because who doesn’t want to just watch that for the rest of their lives) and perhaps some of the others playing guitar, who knows really. To be honest, they could just stand around doing nothing and it’d keep the fandom happy, haha. I’m guessing that One Direction are following the same pop song, ballad, pop song pattern they did for the singles on the first album for the second album, considering how different Live While We’re Young is to the sound of Little Things (a similar contrast to that of What Makes You Beautiful and Gotta Be You, again contrasting to One Thing). If we’re talking comparisons between albums, the obvious comparison to Little Things is the song Moments from the first album… solely based on the fact that lovely British singer/songwriter Ed Sheeran wrote them both as a teenager and generously gave them to One Direction a few years down the track to record and release. Apparently there’s also another song on the new album that Ed wrote, so I’m looking forward to hearing that one too. Anyway. LITTLE THINGS.

Right. Well, it’s a ballad. My friend Caitlyn and I were discussing it (we’re both fans of Ed and 1D… and Nick Grimshaw on BBCRadio1, where we first heard the track) and it’s in a similar style to the observation nature of Ed’s song “Wake Me Up”. According to a radio interview, Little Things contains one of Ed’s favourite lyrics he’s ever written:

‘I know you never like the sound of your voice on tape and you never like to know how much you weigh and you still have to squeeze into your jeans but you’re perfect to me’

which is rather lovely and warm and fuzzy, isn’t it?

Other lyrics from Little Things:

Your hand fits in mine like it’s made just for me 
but bear this mind it was meant to be 
and i’m joining up the dots with the freckles on your cheeks
and it all makes sense to me

I know you’ve never loved the crinkles by your eyes when you smile, 
you’ve never loved your stomach or your thighs 
the dimples in your back at the bottom of your spine 
But I’ll love them endlessly 

I won’t let this little things slip out of my mouth 
But if I do, it’s you, oh it’s you, they add up to 
I’m in love with you and all these little things

To compare, some lyrics from Wake Me Up:

‘Cause maybe you’re loveable

And maybe you’re my snowflake
And your eyes turn from green to gray
In the winter I’ll hold you in a cold place
And you should never cut your hair
‘Cause I love the way you flick it off your shoulder

And you will never know
Just how beautiful you are to me
But maybe I’m just in love
When you wake me up

I guess you could say that the premise of the two songs is very similar, but obviously the interpretation One Direction give in their performance of Little Things is understandably quite different from the very personal, deep feeling that Wake Me Up has. Little Things is written from the perspective of a 17 year old Ed Sheeran, which, going by Ed’s comments in interviews, means that the girl in Little Things is the same girl of Wake Me Up, and the same girl that inspired the majority of the songs on Ed’s debut album ‘+’. I mean, I do love One Direction and I don’t NOT like Little Things (to be fair I’ve only listened to it once or twice), but I don’t love it either. It’s definitely not the best Ed Sheeran song out there, by far, but I’m sure it’ll perform well as 1D’s second single. I’m really excited and intrigued to hear the rest of Take Me Home, considering there’s another Ed song and at least one Tom Fletcher/Danny Jones song on there (my fandoms collided and it was a beautiful moment for all concerned).

Aaaaaand, just to end on a note of slight controversy (and further proof that Directioners REALLY need to stop threatening to kill people… like seriously.), All Time Low’s Alex Gaskarth took to Twitter to express his disdain at LWWY, got a bit confused, made some psycho fans angry, had a bit of chat with Ed Sheeran and now it’s all good, but it’s always interesting how this kind of stuff can get taken out of context. Anyway! What do you guys think of Little Things? Love it? Loathe it? Completely indifferent? Wish I’d stop blogging about One Direction? Let me know in the poll below!

Update: Little Things music video

Sigh. It’s so pretty.

Thoughts? :)

