It’s way past my bedtime.

Hey kids! Sorry for the lack of blogging, I’ve been having some internet issues, amongst other things. I’ll be trying to update as often as I can, though, promise!

I guess the big news  is that I’ve started writing for Feminspire! WOOOOOOOOO. My first article, a piece on Victim Blaming and Reclaim The Night marches, was published last week and I’ve been overwhelmed by all of the support I’ve gotten from family, friends and even complete strangers. A massive thank you to Rhiannon and the  team at Feminspire for giving me the opportunity to write for the site. You can follow Feminspire here on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr.

Today, I’d like to talk to you about a very lovely lady. Her name is Carrie Hope Fletcher, and she’s a singer/songwriter/actress/Youtuber from Britain. I first discovered Carrie waaaaay back in the days of Myspace (through a connection between my favourite band and Carrie), when I listened to a couple of songs she’d posted and absolutely fell in love with her voice. Fast forward a few years, and Carrie is achieving things in leaps and bounds. Her Youtube Channel “Itswaypastmybedtime” currently has over 8 million views and over 100 000 subscribers, and her videos feature everything from music covers to analysis of fairytales to book club reviews and so much more. Haha, it sounds like I’m writing an ad for her, doesn’t it? Sorry.

One thing I’ve always admired about Carrie is her positivity in life. This is someone who appears to always be looking on the bright side of life, trying to make the most of things and never once forgetting to be grateful for everything she has in life. She’s confident, friendly and her bright personality often moves beyond the computer screen and can genuinely brighten your day, if you let it. She’s someone who doesn’t let the trolls get their way and is constantly connecting with her fanbase, whom she refers to as friends. Carrie appears to have incredible ambition, working on numerous “secret projects” over the last few years, writing a book, songwriting and god knows what else she’s been up to. The thing about Carrie is that she seems to be eternally passionate about what it is she’s working on, and in turn that’s inspired me, in part, with things like starting this blog. I wanted to achieve something, to have proof that I’d committed to something and seen it through. It’s always nice to observe the growth of people both emotionally and physically, and in a way I feel like Carrie is someone I’ve admired through the majority of my teenage years- a hugely transitional period for most people- and she was definitely a fantastic role model to have. That being said, she obviously isn’t perfect by any means, but one of the best things about Carrie is that she realises that. In this day and age of the internet celebrity, so many people get put so high above others that they begin to genuinely believe that they are better than everyone else, which is ridiculously frustrating. Carrie doesn’t necessarily want to be famous, she wants to be successful (and those can be different things, trust me.). She doesn’t necessarily have a desire to have fans, instead like most people, she appreciates having friends to share her work and life with, to share in being Hopeful, and for that I am truly admiring of her.

So, have I blabbered on enough yet?

Here’s a couple of my favourite Carrie videos, enjoy!

(By the way, THE GIRL CAN FREAKING SING. Jesus.)

And, finally, my personal favourite:

If it takes your fancy, you can follow Carrie here on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr. To subscribe to her Youtube channel, go here!

Have a nice day, now!

Thoughts? :)

