SO MANY Craft Activities: Desk Organiser!

Hello there! Happy holidays! I hope you all had a lovely break. I spent Christmas Day with my family, which was lovely. As per tradition, I went shopping today (who doesn’t love those Boxing Day sales, I mean, honestly) and picked up some fun stuff from Spotlight for relatively cheap (considering how expensive craft stuff can be). So, the majority of my Boxing Day afternoon consisted of putting together a KaiserCraft desk organiser, and I thought I’d try my hand at put together a sort of tutorial/how-to blog post. The desk organiser kit came with zero instructions and the ones on the Kaisercraft website are vague at best, so yeah. I might be terrible at this, so apologies in advance, but here goes!

2012-12-26 13.13.10

This is what I used to put together my desk organiser:

  • The Kaisercraft Desk Organiser Kit (which comes as a flat pack with zero assembly instructions, yay)
  • About 5 or so sheets of scrapbooking paper (mine were mostly from the Kaisercraft Fine and Sunny collection, because I liked the colours, but from what I can gather most scrapbooking paper is similar, so just pick whichever ones you like!)
  • Craft glue (or a gluestick might suffice- for gluing the paper to the wood)
  • PVA glue (for gluing the wooden frame together in key spots)
  • Sticky tape
  • Scissors
  • A pencil
  • A paintbrush/paddle pop stick/wooden block for spreading the glue
  • A plastic cutting board to a) protect the table from damage and b) provide a solid, clean surface for cutting and gluing stuff

1. The cardboard drawers!

The three drawers in the middle front of the organiser and the one long rectangular one for the bottom front are made from fairly sturdy cardboard and are also included in the kit as flat packs. The first thing I did was glue these drawers together:

2012-12-26 13.21.33

For this, I used the craft glue on each side of the panel and also put some sticky tape across the joins to hold them in place while they were drying.

2. Paper time! 

The next step was taking apart the wooden frame (forgot to take a picture, soz) and gluing on the scrapbook paper. Because the kit does come in pieces, I just traced around each piece, cut out the paper I wanted to use and glued it on (using the craft glue), before sitting it on the cutting board paper side down to help it attach and set. I covered all of the visible wooden pieces (the tray inserts towards the back and the front shelf bit) except for the side panels- leave them ’til later on!

2012-12-26 13.34.48 2012-12-26 13.54.43

After these pieces were complete, I moved on to papering the drawers:

2012-12-26 14.13.21

Same process as the wooden panelling- trace, cut, glue, apply pressure, leave to dry. It’s handy to have a damp cloth or sponge nearby to wipe away any excess glue or residue!

3. Structural engineering.

Next up, I used PVA glue to secure the front bar (with the coffee cup paper on it) to the frame and also the very back piece (with the bird paper on it) to the side frames.

2012-12-26 14.41.34

I left the model on its side (with the sticky tape dispenser on top) to dry (no idea how long you need to leave it for- I went and saw The Hobbit at the cinema, so mine had a good 3 hours to dry).

4. Side panels

2012-12-26 14.24.42
2012-12-26 18.39.15

Once the back panel is secured (and any other pieces you feel like gluing together- I just did the main frame), paper the side panels as your heart desires and leave to dry.

5. The finished product!

2012-12-26 18.56.31

Ta-da! This is what I ended up with! Overall, I’m pretty happy with how things turned out! The colours all work together nicely and besides a few a rough edges that I need to fix up, it looks pretty good. I’m so excited to have it on my desk at college next year, should brighten up my room a bit! :)

Anyway, I hope this post was a bit helpful (sorry if I’m rubbish at the tutorial/how to thing- I’ll try and get better, I promise). I certainly had a lot of fun putting together this desk organiser and it was interesting putting together the blog post to go with it. Who knows, maybe I’ll do more of these or similar in the future, if you guys want me to?

Have a nice day! :)

Thoughts? :)

