Who listens to the radio?

I do! Well, kind of.

Apparently Harry Styles does, though.

Ah, those were the days. What a quiff that was.

I must admit, I’m not the biggest fan of Australian radio. Like nearly everyone I know, I’ll listen to Triple J to hear the Hottest 100 every time they have one- the Hottest 100 of the last 20 years they had on the other day was pretty rad– but beyond that, I’m just not a massive fan of Australian radio. ABC radio is the only major station I can recall from my childhood, whether it was from listening to football and cricket broadcasts on 774 or tuning in for the news when we were on a roadtrip to somewhere.

The reality was that, excluding the nation-wide broadcast reach of the ABC, you couldn’t get a whole lot of radio stations where I was living beyond the local ones (don’t even get me started on that, ugh.). The first time I listened to Hamish & Andy on the actual radio was last year, lol. Anyway!

These days, thanks to the wonders of the internet, I’m no longer limited to only having Australian radio shows to listen to. I’m a massive fan of BBC Radio 1, described in its Youtube channel description as “the world’s best radio station”. One of the best things about BBC Radio 1 is that’s ad-free, and the majority of its shows are available on the website in podcast form, so if the time difference or whatever doesn’t work out, I can always go back and listen to a particular show/interview/Live lounge that I’ve missed. Another great thing about BBC Radio 1 is their online presence- their studios are fitted with webcams so you can watch certain things unfolding, many of which are later uploaded to Youtube. My favourite feature is probably the videos of the usually-hilarious Innuendo Bingo, from the Scott Mills show.

I try and listen to the BBC Radio 1 Breakfast Show live, because it’s usually a lot of fun. Grimmy <3 Finchy 5eva ;x

Beyond actual radio, I’m a huge fan of podcasts. If you’ve been reading this blog since its inception, you may recall what I fondly refer to as my “embarassingly fangirl” post about the Edition podcast. Sadly, that podcast seems to be on a bit of hiatus at the moment, but hopefully it’ll be back at some point!

Luckily though, the dulcet tones of the wonderful Zack Luye are featured on a new podcast with Game of Thrones actor Kristian Nairn. The two have come together to create Two is Company, a show that offers both genuine and humorous advice to its listeners. It’s a great show and I’ve really enjoyed the episodes so far. Plus, you get to listen to a solid hour or more of Zack and Kristian’s great accents- what’s not to love?! You can even subscribe to the show on iTunes and automatically download new episodes as they arrive.

As for a mix of radio and podcasts, Alex Gaskarth and Jack Barakat of the US band All Time Low recently began hosting Full Frontal, a weekly one hour, pre-recorded (thankfully) show on idobi radio. The show is also available as a podcast on iTunes, or you can listen to it here. As you can probably gather from the episode descriptions, the show is pretty heavy on the explicit content front (don’t say I didn’t warn you), but it’s also pretty damn hilarious, in my opinion. It was the second most downloaded music podcast on Itunes  in the second week of its run, so they must be doing something right. 

Some pretty cool Full Frontal fan art by Holly Chapman.

Do you still listen to the actual radio? Got any podcasts that you love listening to? Let me know in the comments! :)

2 thoughts on “Who listens to the radio?

Thoughts? :)

