A break in the clouds

So, sometimes I find really interesting things on blogs. Sometimes, it’s things that just speak to me, in one way or another. Today’s thing comes from All Time Low’s guitar tech, Buzznet Buzzmaker and seemingly good dude Danny Kurily, in a post on his Buzznet blog a little while back.

The post is just… I don’t even know how to describe it. But it quotes Passenger lyrics and has the video for Let Her Go, so that’s pretty great. Passenger was one of the support acts for Ed Sheeran when I saw him in concert earlier this year, and I can assure you that he’s incredible live. My favourite song of his is Holes:

Anyway, onto the rest of the blog post. Danny’s written fairly candidly (maybe that’s not the right word… honestly? openly?) about life on the road and the emotional affects of it, and also about a couple of life lessons/realisations he’s come to in recent years following the passing of his father, amongst other things.

“There will be certain instances in your life that shape you as a human, as a person. It might be a call for compassion or it might be that dare to be great moment. What I do know is you will absolutely miss all of these great moments if you’re too scared to even try.”

I’m afraid of a lot of things in the world. I’m slowly getting better at enjoying the moment and taking things as they come. Life is going to keep on keeping on regardless of whether or not I’m ready for it, so it’s best I embrace it, I suppose?

“Just know that some days everything can’t be all smiles. Try not to judge kids because they’re different or whatever their difference might be. You have no idea what they are going through, you do not walk in their shoes.

Don’t wait to be great, rise to it.”

I once received a particularly kind email response from someone, and I keep it in my inbox so I can revisit it from time to time. The stand out line of it is this:

“I hope everything goes well on your end. I’ve been through some crazy ups and downs in my life, and my one takeaway is that you can always rise above the hard times. It’s hard work, but is necessary to move on to continue growing in life. Keep that chin up.”

In a way, that email cements what Danny’s written in his blog post. No matter how bad things get, you can always move forward, you can always rise above, no matter how lost or hopeless you may feel. At least, I hope you can.

“On the other side of it, there is always a break in the clouds. Sometimes it just takes time for it to come around. I’m not saying I don’t miss my dad, there isn’t a day that goes by that I do not think about him. Don’t be afraid to hurt, it’s your body’s reaction to pain. Whatever you do just don’t try to think that your problems don’t matter, they do, and so do you. I’ve always found its way better to work through anything then pretend like it never really happened.”

Think about that, even just a little bit. Maybe it’s something you’ve already realised… Maybe I already had too, but I guess there’s just something about reading things in the words of others that helps bring them home (helps them hit home? I don’t even know. It’s been a long day.)

Much love! x

Thoughts? :)

