The Blogspiration Project: Chelsea Scanlan

The first edition of the Blogspiration Project, woo! Who would’ve thought that my crazy idea would ever actually be a thing, hey?! Today’s post features the wonderful Chelsea Scanlan, a writer, model & mother-to-be who runs her own blog, Odessa By Chelsea. You can follow Chelsea on Twitter here and check out Odessa By Chelsea here. A huge thank you to Chelsea for being the first contributor to the Blogspiration Project  (I’m so excited that it’s actually happening). Read on and enjoy! 

Tell us a little bit about yourself!chelsea_scanlan_01

My tagline these days is ‘Model. Writer. Lover of Melbourne’ – I think these three things really encapsulate who I am and what I do with myself. I’m a (nearly!) 25 year old model who loves to enjoy life and write about it. I’m passionate about the city of Melbourne and the wonderful things it has to offer. I’m also a student at RMIT and am about to become a mother for the first time. I wear very, very different hats depending on the day!

What inspired you to start Odessa By Chelsea?

Writing has always been a hobby of mine – something I find cathartic. I started Odessa after I was announced as the 2013 F1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix Ambassador. I saw the role as a great opportunity to get my name out there and write about things I find interesting and enjoy… and who knew? People would actually read it!

What do you find most rewarding about blogging?

I’ve always been a person who’s not afraid to say what they really think. You step on people’s toes sometimes, but funnily enough that’s the most rewarding thing – creating conversation between people. I love getting feedback from my readers – engaging with them is the most exciting part.

What would you consider to be the best and worst things about the Internet & the online environment?

I think everyone having a voice is the best and worst thing about the Internet. Nowadays everyone’s an expert, which makes the pool of information so big and cheapens the quality pieces out there.

How do you envisage Odessa By Chelsea developing/growing in the future?

I think Odessa will grow with me – what hurdles I experience on the way and the new challenges we all face every year. The most important thing about blogging is staying true to yourself. People try to use you for free advertising or gift products in return for a post. I don’t agree with this – of course if you genuinely love a product, go for it – but your readers need to know they’re seeing the real you – not a sell out who likes free stuff.

Thoughts? :)

