Let’s chat: #thewiggleshavemoreaustraliantourdatesthan5sos

Other than being the longest hashtag ever, I’m finding the whole thing fairly amusing.

BUT FIRST JUST STOP AND WATCH THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE ARIAS WHICH WAS OBVS QUEEN TINA ARENA BLOODY OWNING THE STAGE LIKE THE QUEEN THAT SHE IS:

 

5SOS did a live cross to the ARIAs last week, and announced a three date tour in Australia late next year. Yep, it was a bit awks, tbh.

Because let’s be completely honest, three shows (one in Sydney, Melbs and Brisbane) is not an Australian tour. That’s an East Coast of Australia tour. And coming from a band who are Australian, it’s a bit of a slap in the face for their Adelaide and Perth based fans, and everyone else in between. Naturally, the fans reacted accordingly, and BuzzfeedOz captured some of the best social media responses here. The highlight was undoubtedly the realisation that The Wiggles have more Australian Tour Dates than 5SOS, and thus the glorious hashtag was born.

The Wiggles quickly responded, and found themselves with legions of new fans across social media, which was a bit of a lol.

And in the last day or so, it’s all combined in this glorious radio exchange between Ashton from 5sosand Anthony the Blue Wiggle (and the best Wiggle, let’s be real) where Ash got real sad about The Wiggles being sassy about 5sos and Anthony offered Ash the Big Red Car for 5sos to tour the country properly. ALL OF THE LOLS.

http://player.ooyala.com/iframe.js#pbid=MmUwYmY4MmIyNmE0OWI0MmQwNGUxMDdi&ec=xhZjBheTpROHr0pDii0SS4cL96L6hC5v

Also this (thanks Cakey for showing me, such lols):

REAL TALK FOR A MINUTE THO: 5sos will announce more Australian dates, surely. They’re playing slightly smaller venues than their most recent Australian tour, which is intriguing, but no doubt there will be some enlightenment soon. I’m not heading along to a show at this stage because money and reasons and tbh who bloody knows where I’ll be NEXT OCTOBER, but I’m sure it’ll be a great gig for all that do attend. Also, Ashton “I wasn’t aware of this Wiggles thing” Irwin, I call bullshit – your entire fandom is built on social media, mate. Excellent display of media training, though, good work!

Seriously though, if anything, 5sos are smart, and they (and their management) know their fandom inside out, so an Australia-wide tour is what the fans deserve, so that’s what they should get. I mean, they’ll still pay for it. There will also be fans from the other side of the country flying to east coast shows out of fear of there not being a whole tour, so you know. WE’LL SEE.

EXTRA REAL TALK: The Wiggles were the first gig I ever went to. I was five years old, my mum made me a new dress, my grandma and grandad took me and bought me a VHS tape of the tour afterwards. It was the best thing EVER. And you know what’s even better? The original Wiggles are reuniting next year to play an over-18s pub show in Sydney for charity. Now I KNOW that it will be a sell-out. Already planning our road trip to Sydney TBH.

They’re even in the ARIA HALL OF FAME, GUYS. THEY’RE THE BEST. (Also that covers album is pretty rad)

 

 

Have a great day, much love!

Ps. I was going to post my fave Wiggles song to end BUT I COULDN’T PICK JUST ONE OKAY LEAVE ME ALONE I’M HAVING FLASHBACKS TO A CHILDHOOD OF DANCE ROUTINES AND REALLY BADLY WANTING A DOROTHY THE DINOSAUR TAIL

Thoughts? :)

